Nushagak River Land Use Program

In a spectacular display of nature, the worlds largest run of King Salmon return yearly to the Nushagak River, attracting anglers from around the world. The Nushagak also hosts runs of chum, sockeye, pink, silver salmon and native populations of rainbow, grayling, char, pike and white fish. The relatively uncrowded river and its abundance of fish is what makes the Nushagak a unique destination for avid anglers.

Nushagak

 

Through its Nushagak River Land Use Program, Choggiung allows private and a limited amount of commercial permits to utilize its land along the Nushagak River. Choggiung Cabin (Click here to view a sample permit). Choggiung monitors its land and land owned by Bristol Bay Native Corporation, Ekwok, Stuyahok and Koliganek village corporations along the Nushagak River. This provides consistent monitoring for trespassing from Dillingham to Harris Creek on the Nuyakuk River and up the Mulchatna River to the confluence of the New Stuyahok River. Individual Land Use Permits can be obtained at Choggiung’s office in Dillingham and Nushagak River Headquarters just below Portage Creek.

Fishermen

Nushagak River salmon fishing is in a class of its own.

Links to commercial operators on the Nushagak

River Camps
Alaska King Fishers LLC http://www.alaskakingfishers.com/
Alaska Legend Lodge
Anderson Outdoors http://www.andersonsoutdoors.com/
Fins, Feathers & Furs http://www.ifish.net/finsfeathersfurs.html
Jake’s Nushagak Salmon Camp http://www.jakesnushagaksalmoncamp.com/index.htm
King Salmon Outfitters http://www.kingsalmonlodge.com/
Nushagak King Camp http://www.kingcamp.com/home.php
Toman’s King Camp http://www.bobtoman.com/kingcamp.html
Fly in Lodges
Alaska Rainbow Lodge/Wilderness North/Shaska http://www.alaskarainbowlodge.com/
Alaska Safari Inc/Valhalla Lodge http://www.valhallalodge.com/home.htm
Alaska’s Fishing Unlimited Inc. http://www.alaskalodge.com/
Alaska’s Lake Clark Inn http://www.lakeclark.com/
Alaska Sportsman Lodge http://www.fishasl.com/index.htm
Alaska’s Wilderness Lodge, Inc.
Aleknagik Island Lodge LLC http://www.islandlodgefishing.com/
Bear Bay Lodge http://www.bearbaylodge.com/
Branch River Air Service, Hartley Inc. http://www.branchriverair.com/
Katmai Air, LLC http://www.katmailand.com/
King Salmon Lodge LLC http://www.kingsalmonlodge.com/
Mission Lodge@ Aleknagik http://www.missionlodge.com/
Newhalen Lodge Inc. http://www.newhalenlodge.com/
NoSeeUm Lodge http://www.noseeumlodge.com/index.htm
Rainbow Bay Resort, Jerry Pippen http://www.rainbowbayresort.com/home.asp
Rainbow King Lodge, Inc. http://rainbowking.com/
Rainbow River Lodge/Chad Hewitt http://www.rainbowriverlodge.com/
Rapids Camp Lodge http://www.rapidscamplodge.com/
Tikchik Narrows Lodge http://www.tikchiklodge.com/